Alberta Government announces distribution of funding for coal communities

Alberta coal project Photo:

Program includes $40-million fund income support to workers transitioning from thermal coal mines and coal-fired power plants to new jobs or retirement

Alberta announced the distribution of funding for the coal communities that will be impacted by the transition away from coal called the Coal Community Transition Fund, according to a press release.

The Coal Community Transition Fund will support 12 projects in 17 communities across the province. Total funding for the communities is about $5 million.

Projects include work to expand economic hubs ( agribusiness, transportation and high-tech industries), tourism development, strategic planning, feasibility studies to help communities diversify and expand their local economies.

The government encouraged coal communities to apply to the Coal Community Transition Fund and worked individually with each proponent during the application and review process, says Deron Bilous, minister of economic development and trade.

“Coal communities have a proud history of helping power a prosperous and industrious province, and we want them to continue to be places where people can build a good life for themselves and their families,” he said.

That’s why we are supporting these projects, brought forward by local leaders, that will help grow and diversify their regional economies.”

The Coal Community Transition Fund is one of a number of measures the Government of Alberta is taking to support coal communities and workers. Last fall, government announced the Coal Workforce Transition Program for workers affected by the coal phase-out.

“The transition away from coal creates a lot of uncertainty for families in our community, and we want to create a plan that works for us. With support from this fund, we will work together to build a diversified economy for the future,” said Charlene Smylie, mayor, Village of Wabamun.

The program includes a $40-million fund to provide income support to workers transitioning from working in Alberta’s thermal coal mines and coal-fired power plants to new jobs or retirement.

In addition, the program provides employment and retraining supports, such as tuition vouchers, third-party retraining programs that offer employment placement, job matching and options for work exposure, as well as a variety of professional certification courses.

Both initiatives are in response to the Advisory Panel on Coal Communities. The province continues to work with the federal government to ensure it does its part to support coal communities and workers.

Successful projects


Total Funding

Battle River Region (includes Village of Halkirk, Village of Forestburg, Town of Castor, Town of Coronation, Flagstaff County, County of Paintearth No. 18) $1,750,000
Leduc County $250,000
Paul First Nation $250,000
Special Areas No. 2 $290,000
Spruce Grove $255,000
Stony Plain $250,000
Town of Grande Cache $325,000
Town of Hanna $455,775
Town of Thorsby $245,000
Village of Wabamun $347,000
Village of Warburg $375,000
Village of Youngstown $76,800



Facebook Comments

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.